Archival Films & NewsreelsThis link opens in a new windowOver 5,000 streaming videos and Newsreels from WWW I &II to the 21st Century.
Birds of the WorldThis link opens in a new windowDetailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada, with images and recordings of bird songs and calls.
Digital Public Library of AmericaThis link opens in a new windowAggregates digital collections from various institutions across the United States and serves as both a simple search portal and as a development platform with which online exhibitions etc. can be built.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowStreaming videos from a variety of disciplines
Internet ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowInternet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more. Many entries include easily accessible raw text.
AdViewsThousands of television commercials dating back to the 1950s-1980s from the D’Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles Archives can be found at the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University’s David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
American Archive of Public BroadcastingWith over 40,000 digitized recordings from public radio and television, the American Archive of Public Broadcasting is a portal to 60-plus years of both nationally distributed and locally produced programming.
C-SPANSince 1979, the Cable-Satellite Public Affairs Network — better known as C-SPAN — has provided an unfiltered view of American politics. The network has made more than 250,000 hours of content available online, spanning Presidential speeches and press conferences; Congress; the Supreme Court; original programming on American history; and live streams.
News & Public AffairsThis collection includes WWII-era recordings; public and private presidential speeches; public police and fire scanners; and radio programming.
Old Time RadioRadio dramas, readings, WWII news and musical performances dating back to the 1920s. This material is available through Creative Commons licensing, so please review usage terms of each program before using audio in your piece.
Pacifica Radio ArchivesNon-commercial, listener-supported radio programming spanning “documentaries, performances, discussions, debates, drama, poetry readings, commentaries and radio arts” from the second half of the 20th century.
Prelinger ArchivesPublic domain commercials, public service announcements and educational films dating back to the 1890s.
TV News ArchiveSearchable, closed-captioned broadcast television news from 2009-present. Includes both cable and network news as well as international broadcasters. Ideal for when you’re making a montage of reports from a major event, looking for interview clips or searching for mentions of a name or place.