Gebbie Archives and Special CollectionsThe Marion B. Gebbie Archives & Special Collections, housed on the Archives level of Wallace Library, is home to a treasure trove of Wheaton-related archival papers and multimedia, as well as a wealth of special collection books, manuscripts, and realia. Wheaton's history as a women's seminary and then a women's college provides a special focus on women's studies for much of the collection.
Digital Libraries and Collections
African American WomenImages and transcripts from three digital collections: Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson Slave Letters, 1837-1838; Vilet Lester Slave Letter, 1857; and Elizabeth Johnson Harris: Life Story, 1867-1923. From the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.
Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Discovering American Women's History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Emma Goldman PapersEmma Goldman (1869–1940) stands as a major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism. An influential and well-known anarchist of her day, Goldman was an early advocate of free speech, birth control, women's equality and independence, and union organization. Her papers include correspondence, speeches, essays, pamphlets, and newspaper articles.
Lavender LegaciesA project of the Society of American Archivists (SAA), Lavender Legacies, is a list of archive collections in the U.S. and Canada
OutHistory.orgOutHistory is a website about lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and heterosexual history, and, more generally, gender and sexual history. OutHistory comprises elements of an almanac, archive, article, bibliography, book, encyclopedia, library, and museum.
Transgender ArchivesThe Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of trans, non-binary, and Two-Spirit people.
Women's Travel DiariesThe diaries in this digital collection were written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. There are over 100 diaries of varying length, selected from the following archival collections at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
Women Working: Harvard Open CollectionFocuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Women Writers OnlineFull text collection of over 375 early modern (1526-1850) texts by women. Founded at Brown University in the late 1980s, the WWP is now based at Northeastern University.
Websites
AdRespectFirst created in 1996, this website (originally known as "The Commercial Closet") chronicles "over 4,000 LGBT themed ads from around the world going back to 1917, exploring the range of representations of gender and sexuality in print and television advertising. The material represents the best and worst of Madison Avenue's commercial messages, and everything in between.
People with a History: An Online Guide to LGBT HistoryPart of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University, this extensive guide provides an overview of theoretical, political, and historical debates in LGBT Studies as well as links to an impressive collection of primary sources.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive Online, 1842-2003This link opens in a new windowThe complete contents of more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history published in the Illustrated London News. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy.
Created by Shonn M. Haren, 2015. CC BY 4.0