Madeleine Clark Wallace Library: Greek, Latin &amp; Ancient Mediterranean Studies: Find Primary Sources

Resources for Finding Primary Sources in GLAM

Finding primary sources can be tricky as most of them are housed in archives across the world. Only a small percentage of the existing primary sources have been digitized and made available online. Below are some good places to start when looking for primary sources.

Perseus Digital Library Texts, images, datasets, encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries, reference works, and other primary materials in the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes texts in Latin and/or Greek.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. The freely available abridged database offers a portion of the entire TLG on the web.
Oxford Text Archive "The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning." This includes texts from antiquity to the modern period ready for text mining and available in XML, HTML, TXT, or ePub formats. Note: Some resources are only available to users affiliated with the University of Oxford, but many are freely accessible.
Digital Latin Library Set to launch in mid-2017, the joint project of the Society for Classical Studies, the Medieval Academy of America, and theRenaissance Society of America is geared toward "publishing and curating critical editions of Latin texts, of all types, from all eras, and facilitating an ongoing scholarly conversation about these texts through open collaboration and annotation," as well as toward "facilitating the finding and, where openly available and accessible online, the reading of all texts written in Latin."
Internet Classics Archive From MIT, this site presents some 400+ (primarily) Greek and Roman classical texts in English translation that can be text-mined and annotated—or simply enjoyed.

This is only a selection of the resources available for finding primary sources. If you need help, please make an appointment with me and I'd be happy to work with you.

Find Diaries, Journals, Memoirs, Letters, and Autobiographies at Wallace Library

Information on Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary Sources
Secondary Sources

Primary sources are records of events created as they occurred, or recorded by eye witnesses. They come in many formats, including letters and email; journals, diaries, and memoirs; audio recordings; photographs; audio recordings; and much more. Created by Shonn M. Haren, 2015. CC BY 4.0

Created by Shonn M. Haren, 2015. CC BY 4.0

Greek, Latin & Ancient Mediterranean Studies

Humanities & Student Success Librarian

Resources for Finding Primary Sources in GLAM

Find Diaries, Journals, Memoirs, Letters, and Autobiographies at Wallace Library

Information on Primary and Secondary Sources